Navigation

Professional Development School Partners

The College of Education at Bowie State University provides pre-service interns powerful and unique field experiences in Professional Development Schools (PDSs) in partnership with BSU. Pre-service interns aspiring to become professional educators are provided:

  • Year-long internship (a minimum of 100 days) in a PDS in partnership with BSU;
  • Opportunity to work in classrooms with experienced mentor teachers;
  • Opportunity to participate in inquiry groups and plan action research with mentor teacher and University faculty;
  • Use of technology;
  • Hands-on training in completing an electronic-portfolio, required by all pre-service interns;
  • Opportunity to participate in literacy workshops.

        Pre-service interns in teacher education programs at BSU are highly qualified and sought-after graduates. Upon successful completion of a program of study, interns are certified to teach. All pre-service interns must complete field experiences in a PDS arranged by the director of field experiences.

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SCHOOL STAFF

Dr. Eva Garin, Professor & Professional Development Schools (PDS) Coordinator
Dr. Lynne G. Long, Director of Field Experience

Bowie State University Professional Development Schools Directory

College of Education 

 

Elementary PDS ~ Anne Arundel County

Special Education PDS ~ Prince George's County

Crofton Meadows Elementary School

2020 Tilghman Drive, Crofton, MD  21114

Principal:  Julie Little-McVearry

(jlittle-mcvearry@aacps.org)

410.721.9453  Fax:  410.721.5821

PDS Coordinator:  Jennifer Gleason ~ jgleason@aacps.org

Chapel Forge ECC

12711 Milan Way, Bowie, MD 20715

301.805.2740    Fax: 301.805.6672

Principal: Elyse Hurley ~ elyse.hurley@pgcps.org

PDS Coordinator: Laura Downey ~ laura.downey@pgcps.org

Elementary PDS ~ Prince George’s County

Marlton Elementary School

8506 Old Colony Drive, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

301.952.7780    Fax: 301.952.7718

Principal: Valerie Gifford ~ valerie.gifford@pgcps.org

PDS Coordinator: Jennifer Santini ~ jsantini@pgcps.org

 

Northview Elementary School

3700 Northview Drive, Bowie, MD 20716

301.218.1520    Fax: 301.218.3071

Principal: Jason Simmons ~ jason.simmons@pgcps.org

PDS Coordinator: Judy Cameron ~ judy.cameron@pgcps.org

 

Oaklands Elementary School

13710 Laurel-Bowie Road, Laurel, MD 20708

301.497.3110    Fax: 301. 497.3114

Principal: Audrey Briscoe ~ audrey.briscoe@pgcps.org

PDS Coordinator:

Amanda Sandor ~ amanda.sandor@pgcps.org

 

Tulip Grove Elementary School

2909 Trainor Lane, Bowie, MD 20715

301.805.2680    Fax: 301.805.6689

Principal: Jaime Coffen ~ jaime.whitfield@pgcps.org

PDS Coordinator:

Daleisha Myers ~ daleisha.myers@pgcps.org

 

Catherine T. Reed Elementary School

9501 Greenbelt Road, Lanham, MD  20706

Principal:  Nicole Warner ~ nicole.warner@pgcps.org

Tel: 301.918.8716  Fax 301.918.8559

Interim PDS Coordinator:

Kimberly Riley ~ kimberly.riley@pgcps.org

 

Vansville Elementary School

6813 Ammendale Road, Beltsville, MD  20705

Principal:  Tom Smith ~ tom.smith@pgcps.org

301.931.2830    Fax:  301.931.2840

PDS Coordinators:

Shevika Couchman ~ shevika101@yahoo.com

 Tamara McRae ~ tamara.mcrae@pgcps.org

 

Whitehall Elementary School

3901 Woodhaven Lane, Bowie, MD 20715

Principal: Prentince Christian ~ pa.christian@pgcps.org

301-805-1000 Fax: 301-805-1006

PDS Coordinator: Dawn Wine ~ dawn.wine@pgcps.org

 

Secondary PDS   ~   Prince George’s County

Bowie High School

15200 Annapolis Road, Bowie, MD 20715

301.805.2600     Fax: 301.805.2619

Principal: Drewanna Bey ~ drewana.bey@pgcps.org

PDS Coordinators: James Hargraves & Denise Swann

 james.hargraves@pgcps.org; denise.swann@pgcps.org

 

 

Benjamin Tasker Middle School

4901 Collington Road, Bowie, MD. 20715

301.805.2660   Fax:  301.805.2663 (call first)

Principal: I. Michelle Johnson ~ ingrid2.johnson@pgcps.org

PDS Coordinator: Robyn Jones ~ robyn.jones@pgcps.org