Faculty

Faculty research and creative endeavors center on the interdisciplinary aspects of art, design, music, theatre, dance, performance art, studio, and multimedia. With continuing commitment to innovative activities, the faculty have achieved laudable success in both national and international forums of exhibitions and publications.

The perspective gained from this high level of engagement provides the diverse faculty and professional associate staff with an informed and unique pedagogical vision. The department incorporates this astute awareness of contemporary art practice, theoretical discourse, and in-depth knowledge of evolving technologies into an educational process, which is designed to enable students to achieve the successful realization of their creative projects and artistic goals. All faculty offices are now relocated to the new Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC).

 

Administrative Staff and Faculty

Name

FPAC Room

Email

Telephone

Dr. Gail Medford, Dept. Chairperson 

 

gmedford@bowiestate.edu

 (301) 860-3755

Rebecca Bailey, Program Admin. Specialist

 

 (301) 860-3752

       
       

Art

 

 

 

Dr. Robert Ward

 

rward@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3758 

Prof. E. Clarke Mester

 

(301) 860-3759

Clayton Lang

 

clang@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3719

Gina Lewis, Coordinator

 

glewis@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3715 

 

 

 

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

 

 

 

Phaedra Byrd

 

pbyrd@bowiestate.edu 

 

Tamara De Silva

 2132

 

(301) 860-4078 

Natalie Thomas Wade

 2132

 nthomaswade@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-4078  

 

     

Music

 

 

 

Dr. Marymal Holmes, Coordinator

 

mholmes@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3754 

Dr. Clarence Knight, Jr. 

 

cknight@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3751 

Paul Mitchell

 

(301) 860-3752

Dr. Gilbert Pryor

 

gpryor@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3753 

Janese Sampson

 

(301) 860-3752

Latonya Wrenn, Gospel Choir Director

 

(301) 860-3757

 

 

 

 

 

Music Technology

 

 

 

Dr. Gilbert Pryor, Coordinator 

 

gpryor@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3753 

Dr. William Smith

 

wesmith@bowiestate.edu 

(301) 860-3946 

 

Theatre Arts

 

 

 

Bob Bartlett, Coordinator

 

bbartlett@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3769 

Renee Charlow 

 

rcharlow@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3717 

Jennifer Dorsey, Dance

 

jdorsey@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3784

John McCaffe, Technical Director

 

(301) 860-3765  

Dr. Gail Medford

 

gmedford@bowiestate.edu 

(301) 860-3755 

Elliott Moffitt

 

emoffitt@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3756 

 

 

 

 

VCDMA

 

 

 

Tewodross Melchishua, Coordinator

2130

tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3731

 

 

 

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

 

 

 

Amina Hammond

2132 

 

(301) 860-4078  

Ching Lau 

2132   

 

(301) 860-4078  

Julian Kiganda

2132   

 

(301) 860-4078  

Dyanne Marte

2132   

dmarte@bowiestate.edu 

(301) 860-4078  

Yanique Moore

2132   

ymoore@bowiestate.edu 

(301) 860-4078  

Dr. Pamela O'Brien, Chair, 
Dept. of Communications

MLK 2ND Floor

(301) 860-3703 

Malcolm Pelles

2132  

 

(301) 860-4078  

Myron Smith

2132   

 

(301) 860-4078  

Doreen Vernon

2132  

dvernon@bowiestate.edu 

(301) 860-4078  

Jennifer White-Johnson 

2132  

 

(301) 860-4078  

Rodney C. Williams

2132   

 

(301) 860-4078