Faculty

Faculty research and creative endeavors center on the interdisciplinary aspects of art, design, music, theatre, dance, performance art, studio, and multimedia. With continuing commitment to innovative activities, the faculty have achieved laudable success in both national and international forums of exhibitions and publications.

The perspective gained from this high level of engagement provides the diverse faculty and professional associate staff with an informed and unique pedagogical vision. The department incorporates this astute awareness of contemporary art practice, theoretical discourse, and in-depth knowledge of evolving technologies into an educational process, which is designed to enable students to achieve the successful realization of their creative projects and artistic goals. All faculty offices are now relocated to the new Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC).

 

Administration, Faculty & Staff

Name

FPAC Room

Email

Telephone

Dr. Gail Medford, Dept. Chairperson 

 

gmedford@bowiestate.edu

 (301) 860-3755

Rebecca Bailey, Admin. Assistant

 

rbailey@bowiestate.edu 

 (301) 860-3752

       
       

Art

 

 

 

Dr. Robert Ward

 

rward@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3758 

Prof. E. Clarke Mester

 

emester@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3759

Clayton Lang

 

clang@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3719

Gina Lewis, Coordinator

 

glewis@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3715 

 

 

 

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

 

 

 

Phaedra Byrd, Photography

 

pbyrd@bowiestate.edu 

 

Tamara De Silva, Ceramics, Art History

 

 

 

Natalie Thomas Wade, Design, Foundation

 

 nthomaswade@bowiestate.edu

 

       

Music

 

 

 

Dr. Marymal Holmes, Coordinator

 

mholmes@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3754 

Dr. Clarence Knight, Jr. 

 

cknight@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3751 

Dr. Gilbert Pryor

 

gpryor@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3753 

Dr. William Smith

 

wesmith@bowiestate.edu 

(301) 860-3946 

Latonya Wrenn, Gospel Choir Director

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Theatre Arts

 

 

 

Bob Bartlett, Coordinator

 

bbartlett@bowiestate.edu

 

Renee Charlow 

 

rcharlow@bowiestate.edu

 

Jennifer Dorsey, Dance

 

jdorsey@bowiestate.edu

 

John McCaffe, Technical Director

 

 

 

Dr. Gail Medford

 

gmedford@bowiestate.edu 

 

Elliott Moffitt

 

emoffitt@bowiestate.edu

 

 

 

 

 

VCDMA

 

 

 

Tewodross Melchishua, Coordinator

2130

tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu

 301-860-3731

 

 

 

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

 

 

 

Amina Hammond

 

 

 

Ching Lau 

  

 

 

Julian Kiganda

  

 

 

Dyanne Marte

  

 

 

Yanique Moore

  

 

 

Dr. Pamela O'Brien

  

 

 

Malcolm Pelles

 

 

 

Myron Smith

  

 

 

Doreen Vernon

 

 

 

Jennifer White-Johnson 

 

 

 

Rodney C. Williams