Faculty

Faculty research and creative endeavors center on the interdisciplinary aspects of art, design, music, theatre, dance, performance art, studio, and multimedia. With continuing commitment to innovative activities, the faculty have achieved laudable success in both national and international forums of exhibitions and publications.

The perspective gained from this high level of engagement provides the diverse faculty and professional associate staff with an informed and unique pedagogical vision. The department incorporates this astute awareness of contemporary art practice, theoretical discourse, and in-depth knowledge of evolving technologies into an educational process, which is designed to enable students to achieve the successful realization of their creative projects and artistic goals. All faculty offices are now relocated to the new Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC).

 

OFFICE STAFF/ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Name Office Email Telephone
Dr. Gail Medford, Chair   gmedford@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3755
Ms. Rebecca Bailey, Administrative Assistant   rbailey@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3750
       
Program Coordinators      
       
Art (Studio):       
E. Clarke Mester Jr., MFA   emester@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3759
Music:      
Marymal Holmes, Soprano, MFA, PHD   mholmes@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3754
Theatre Arts:      
Gail S. Medford, PhD   gmedford@bowiestate.edu

301-860-3755

 

 VCDMA      
Tewodross Melchishua, MFA   tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu  301-860-3731
       

 

FACULTY

Name Office Email Telephone
Bob Bartlett, MA, MFA
  bbartlett@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3769
Renee' Charlow, MFA   rcharlow@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3717
Jennifer Dorsey, MFA   jdorsey@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3718
Dr. Clarence E. Knight, Jr., M. MUS. ED; Ed. D.   cknight@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3751
Clayton Lang, MFA   clang@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3719
Gina Lewis, MFA   glewis@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3715
Gail S. Medford, PhD   gmedford@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3755
Tewodross Melchishua, MFA   tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3731
E. Clarke Mester Jr., MFA   cmester@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3759
Elliott Moffitt, MA   emoffitt@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3756
Gilbert E. Pryor Jr., MA, PhD   gpryor@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3753
Marymal Holmes, Soprano MFA, PhD   mholmes@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3754
Robert Ward, MFA, PhD   rward@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3758
LaTonya Wrenn, MA    lwrenn@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3757 
Adolph Wright, MA, PhD   awright@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3762

William E. Smith, PhD

  wesmith@bowiestate.edu

301-860-3946

 

ADJUNCTS

Art & Visual Communication & Digital Media Arts (VCDMA)

Name      
Phaedra Byrd, Photography, Digital Photography      
Doreen Vernon, Fashion Design, Fashion Illustration, Textiles      
Natalie Thomas-Wade, Design, Illustration, Foundation      
Yanique Moore, Fashion Design (Product/Industrial), Visual Communication, Fashion Design History      
Jennifer White-Johnson, Design, Visual Communication & Photography      
Joanna Jenkins, Visual Communication, Design, Promotion/Marketing in the Arts, Branding      
Felicia Pride, Promotion/Marketing in the Arts, Screenwriting, Visual Culture      
Ching Lau, 3D Animation, Modeling and Game Design      
Tamara De Silva, Ceramics, Studio, Art History      
Myron Smith, Design, Design History      

 

Music & Music Technology

Name      
James Kerns, Saxophone and Clarinet      
Thomas Newman, Guitar      

Janese Sampson, Flute and Oboe

     
Dr. Brian Semos, Voice, Sight Singing, Voice and Diction      
Janatus Tayborn, Tuba and Bass      

Matthew Allen, Music Technology

     
       
       

 

Theater Arts

Name