Faculty & Staff

Dr. Olusola Akinyele

Dr. Olusola AkinyeleProfessor — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3355
oakinyele@bowiestate.edu

PhD in mathematics, University of Ibadan, Nigeria. Functional analysis, ordinary and functional differential equations, integral equations
Current research interests: Stability theory of impulsive differential systems, large scale dynamical systems, and integral inequalities
Teaching interests: Precalculus, advanced calculus, ordinary differential equations and partial differential equations

Dr. Karen Benbury

Dr. Karen BenburyProfessor — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3354
kbenbury@bowiestate.edu

PhD in mathematics, University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Abstract algebra, algebraic foundations of quantum mechanics, geometry, probability and statistics, computational mathematics

Prof. Claudette Burge

Prof. Claudette BurgeLecturer — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3362
cburge@bowiestate.edu

MS, Central State University, Edmont, OK.
Teaching interests: Developmental mathematics, mathematics for elementary school teachers

Mr. Michael Hawkins

Lecturer — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3373
mhawkins@bowiestate.edu

Mr. Opel T. Jones

Mr. Opel T. JonesLecturer — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3372
ojones@bowiestate.edu



Dr. Abdusamad Kabir

Dr. Abdusamad KabirAssociate Professor — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3359
akabir@bowiestate.edu

PhD in operations research, Polytechnic University, Brooklyn, NY. Linear, integer, and nonlinear programming, queuing theory
Area of Interest: Routing Problem in mathematical programming
Current research interests: Multiobjective programming and queuing systems
Teaching interests: Operations research, applied probability and mathematical statistics

Dr. Elena Klimova

Dr. Elena KlimovaAssistant Professor — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3358
eklimova@bowiestate.edu

Differential geometry and topology, gravitational theories, methods of teaching mathemetics

Dr. Chaobin Liu

Dr. Chaobin LiuAssociate Professor — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3361
cliu@bowiestate.edu

PhD in mathematics, Temple University. Probability theory and mathematical statistics, quantum computation
Teaching interests: Probability theory and mathematical statistics, Mathematical physics and quantum computation

 

Dr. Mehran Mahdavi

Dr. Mehran MahdaviProfessor — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3357
mmahdavi@bowiestate.edu

PhD in applied mathematics, University of Texas, Arlington.
Current research interests: Theory of equations involving abstract Volterra operators (causal operators)
Teaching interests: Ordinary differential equations, partial differential equations, real analysis, complex analysis, dynamical systems

Dr. Malick Mbodj

Prof. Malick MbodjLecturer — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3353
mmbodj@bowiestate.edu

MS in applied and computational mathematics, Bowie State University.
Teaching interests: Developmental mathematics, differential equations

Dr. Nelson Petulante

Dr. Nelson PetulanteProfessor and Chair — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3352
npetulante@bowiestate.edu

PhD in mathematics, University of Maryland, College Park, MSc in Mathematics, Concordia University, Canada. Number theory, cryptography, coding theory, mathematical physics

Mr. Kenneth Preston

Lecturer — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3351
kpreston@bowiestate.edu

Ms. Cassandra Scott

Cassandra ScottLecturer — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3356
csott@bowiestate.edu

B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Southern University, M.S. in Math Education from Howard University, courses taught: College Algebra, Pre-Calculus, Mathematical Ideas, Statistics 

Prof. Nancy Shiplett

Prof. Nancy ShiplettLecturer — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3324
nshiplett@bowiestate.edu

Teaching interests: Developmental mathematics, algebra, geometry

Dr. Roman Sznajder

Dr. Roman SznajderProfessor, Graduate Program Coordinator — Department of Mathematics
301-860-3360
RSznajde@bowiestate.edu

PhD in applied mathematics, University of Maryland Baltimore County, MS in mathematics, Warsaw University, Poland. Complementarity problems and variational inequalities, mathematical programming, convex analysis, linear and nonlinear functional analysis
Current research interests: Complementarity problems in Euclidean Jordan algebras
Teaching interests: Numerical analysis, optimization, operations research

Sierprot