Skip to Main Content

Dwight M. Ellis

Dwight Ellis, Lecturer
JD, George Mason University School of Law
BS, District of Columbia Teacher's College

Dwight Ellis joined the Department of Communications as an adjunct teaching undergraduate courses in broadcast journalism and graduate courses in media studies the fall of 2008. He became a full-time faculty lecturer in spring 2009 and continues to teach courses in these specialties.

Prior to his responsibilities at BSU, Ellis served two decades as a Vice President with the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), the premier trade association of the nation's free-over-the-air broadcast radio and television stations. Following his retirement from NAB in 2004, he founded and operated Dwight Ellis & Associates, a global media business and workforce development consultancy.

Ellis also served as Chief of Staff for retired Congresswoman Cardiss Collins (D-IL); founder  of a public relations and advertising consulting firm; and five years as an NBC radio and television host. A past president of the Capital Press Club, Ellis is a member of the Public Relations Society of America and National Association of Black Journalists; an advisory board member of the National Press Foundation; a member of the Business Advisory Council of the Organization of Chinese Americans; a former newspaper media columnist for several African American newspapers; and former member of the George Foster Peabody Awards Board.

He has been the recipient of many awards and recognitions including the 2003 President's Medal from Southern Connecticut State University; the 2002 "Master Communicator Award" from the National Black Media Coalition; the "Golden Mike Award" from the Black Broadcasters Alliance for outstanding contributions over the years to broadcasting; the "Award for Distinguished Leadership In Communications" presented by National University's Board of Trustees; 1987 "Leadership In Communications Award" presented by the Dean of Howard University's School of Communications; and the "International Achievement Award" presented by the National Association of Media Women for his "superior contributions" in the U.S. and Canada.