Skip to Main Content
Navigation

Faculty

Faculty research and creative endeavors center on the interdisciplinary aspects of art, design, music, theatre, dance, performance art, studio, and multimedia. With continuing commitment to innovative activities, the faculty have achieved laudable success in both national and international forums of exhibitions and publications.

The perspective gained from this high level of engagement provides the diverse faculty and professional associate staff with an informed and unique pedagogical vision. The department incorporates this astute awareness of contemporary art practice, theoretical discourse, and in-depth knowledge of evolving technologies into an educational process, which is designed to enable students to achieve the successful realization of their creative projects and artistic goals. All faculty offices are now relocated to the new Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC).

 

Administrative Staff and Faculty

Name

FPAC Room

Email

Telephone

Dr. Gail Medford, Dept. Chairperson 

 

gmedford@bowiestate.edu

 (301) 860-3755

Rebecca Bailey, Program Admin. Specialist

 

 (301) 860-3752

       
       

Art

 

 

 

E. Clarke Mester

 

 (301) 860-3759

Dr. Clayton Lang

 

(301) 860-3719

Gina Lewis, Program Coordinator

 

glewis@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3715 

Art Vidrine

 2122

avidrineiv@bowiestate.edu

301) 860-4540

 

 

 

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

 

 

 

La'Tasha Banks, Acting Gallery Coordinator, Art History, African American Art History

 

lbanks1@bowiestate.edu 

 

Phaedra Byrd, Photography

 

pbyrd@bowiestate.edu

 

Tamara De Silva, Art History, Ceramics

 

 

(301) 860-4078 

Kevin Holder, Painting, Drawing and Computer Graphics

 

 


 

 

     

Music

 

 

 

Dr. Marymal Holmes, Program Coordinator

 

mholmes@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3754 

Paul Mitchell

 

(301) 860-3752

Dr. Gilbert Pryor

 

gpryor@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3753 

Janese Sampson

 

(301) 860-3752

Latonya Wrenn, Gospel Choir Director

 

(301) 860-3757

 

 

 

 

Music Technology

 

 

 

Dr. Gilbert Pryor, Coordinator 

 

gpryor@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3753 

Dr. William Smith

 

wesmith@bowiestate.edu 

(301) 860-3946 

Theatre Arts

 

 

 

Bob Bartlett, Coordinator

 

bbartlett@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3769 

Jennifer Dorsey, Dance

 

jdorsey@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3784

John McCaffe, Technical Director

 

(301) 860-3765  

Dr. Gail Medford

 

gmedford@bowiestate.edu 

(301) 860-3755 

 

 

 

 

VCDMA

 

 

 

Tewodross Melchishua Williams, Program Coordinator

Animation, Filmmaking,
Hip-Hop Studies, Motion Graphics, Multimedia, Internship, Visual Culture,
Visual Communication

2130

tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3731

Jennifer White-Johnson,

Advertising Design, Photography, Photojournalism, Visual/Social Design
Visual Communication

2120

jwhitejohnson@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-3771

Danielle Brown,

Fashion Design, CAD, Sewing

 

dbrown@bowiestate.edu

 

 

 

 

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maggy Francois, Fashion Design, Costume Design

2227

mfrancois@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-4078  

Amina Hammond, Web Design and multimedia

2132 

ahammond@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-4078  

Harold Jackson, III, Screenwriting

     

Risikat Okedeyi, Self-Promotion, Marketing in the Arts

2132  

rokedeyi@bowiestate.edu

(301) 684-8911

Myron Smith, Design History

2132   

msmith@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-4078  

John Stephan, 3D Animation and Modeling

     

Doreen Vernon, Fashion Design

2132  

dvernon@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-4078  

Rodney C. Williams, Advertising Design, Visual Communication

2132   

rcwilliams@bowiestate.edu

(301) 860-4078