Skip to Main Content
Navigation

Faculty and Staff

Chairman: Dr. Diarra Osei Robertson - Associate Professor of Government

Margo Buck-Hurley
Administrative Assistant II — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0205
301-860-3697
mbuckhurley@bowiestate.edu

Professors

Mario D. Fenyo, Ph.D.Dr. Mario D. Fenyo, Ph.D.
Professor — Department of History & Government
Coordinator of History Program
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0219
301-860-3607
mfenyo@bowiestate.edu

Dr. Weldon Jackson
Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Building, Room 0209
(301) 860-3606
wjackson@bowiestate.edu

William B. Lewis, Ph.D.Dr. William B. Lewis, Ph.D.
Professor — Department of History & Government
Coordinator of Government Program
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0202
301-860-3602
wlewis@bowiestate.edu

M. Sammye Miller, Ph.D.Dr. M. Sammye Miller, Ph.D.
Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 249
301-860-3600
smiller@bowiestate.edu


Frederick B. Mills, Ph.D.Dr.  Frederick B. Mills, Ph.D.
Professor —Department of History & Government
Coordinator of Philosophy Minor 
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0217
301-860-3605
fmills@bowiestate.edu

George S. Sochan, Ph.D.Dr. George S. Sochan, Ph.D. 
Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0215
301-860-3604
gsochan@bowiestate.edu

 

Associate Professors

Dr. Benjamin O. Arah, Ph.D.Dr. Benjamin O. Arah, Ph.D.
Associate Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0217
301-860-3611
barah@bowiestate.edu


Dr. Tamara BrownDr. Tamara L. Brown, Ph.D.
Director of Women’s Studies, Associate Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0203
301-860-3612
tlbrown@bowiestate.edu

Karen Cook-Bell, Ph.D.Dr. Karen Cook Bell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0218
301-860-3615
kcookbell@bowiestate.edu


Dr. Roger A. Davidson, Jr., Ph.D.

Associate Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0247  
(301) 860-3739
rdavidson@bowiestate.edu


D. Osei Robertson, Ph.D.Dr. Diarra Osei Robertson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0208
301-860-3613
drobertson@bowiestate.edu

Dr. Carmen Walker, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor -- Department of History & Government 
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0218
301-860-4431 
cwalker@bowiestate.edu

 

Assistant Professors

Robert Birt, Ph.D.Dr. Robert Birt, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0206
301-860-3646
rbirt@bowiestate.edu

Dr. Festus Cole
Assistant Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0246
301-860-3608
fcole@bowiestate.edu


Dr. Sumanth Reddy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor -- Department of History & Government
Coordinator of Geography Minor
Martin Luther King Jr., Communication Arts Center Rm. 0210
301-860-3614
sreddy@bowiestate.edu


David Leon Reed, Ph.D.Dr. David Leon Reed, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor — Department of History & Government
Coordinator of History Education Program
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0247
301-860-3893
dreed@bowiestate.edu

 

Lecturers

Dr. John R. ShookDr. John R. Shook, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Philosophy - Department of History
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0249
301-860-3697
jrshook@bowiestate.edu