Skip to Main Content
Navigation

Professional Development School Partners

The College of Education at Bowie State University provides pre-service interns powerful and unique field experiences in Professional Development Schools (PDSs) in partnership with BSU. Pre-service interns aspiring to become professional educators are provided:

  • Year-long internship (a minimum of 100 days) in a PDS in partnership with BSU;
  • Opportunity to work in classrooms with experienced mentor teachers;
  • Opportunity to participate in inquiry groups and plan action research with mentor teacher and University faculty;
  • Use of technology;
  • Hands-on training in completing an electronic-portfolio, required by all pre-service interns;
  • Opportunity to participate in literacy workshops.

 Pre-service interns in teacher education programs at BSU are highly qualified and sought-after graduates. Upon successful completion of a program of study, interns are certified to teach. All pre-service interns must complete field experiences in a PDS arranged by the director of field experiences.

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SCHOOL STAFF

Dr. Eva Garin, Professor & Professional Development Schools (PDS) Coordinator
Dr. Lynne G. Long, Director of Field Experience

 

Bowie State University, College of Education
Professional Development Schools Directory                                               
Elementary PDS ~ Anne Arundel County

Crofton Meadows Elementary School
2020 Tilghman Drive, Crofton, MD  21114
410.721.9453  Fax:  410.721.5821
Principal:  Julie Little-McVearry
(jlittle-mcvearry@aacps.org)
PDS Coordinator:  Jennifer Gleason ~ jgleason@aacps.org

 

Elementary PDS ~ Prince George’s County

Marlton Elementary School
8506 Old Colony Drive, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
301.952.7780    Fax: 301.952.7718
Principal: Valerie Gifford ~ valerie.gifford@pgcps.org
PDS Coordinator: Jennifer Santini ~ jsantini@pgcps.org


Northview Elementary School

3700 Northview Drive, Bowie, MD 20716
301.218.1520    Fax: 301.218.3071
Principal: Jason Simmons ~ jason.simmons@pgcps.org
PDS Coordinator: Judy Cameron ~ judy.cameron@pgcps.org
Lesley Boone ~ lesley.boone@pgcps.org


Oaklands Elementary School
13710 Laurel-Bowie Road, Laurel, MD 20708
301.497.3110    Fax: 301. 497.3114Principal: Audrey Briscoe ~ audrey.briscoe@pgcps.org
PDS Coordinator:  Malvery Smith ~ malvery.smith@pgcps.org


Tulip Grove Elementary School
3501 Moylan Drive, Bowie, MD 20715
301.805.2680    Fax: 301.805.6689
Principal: Valerie Gifford ~ valerie.gifford@pgcps.org
PDS Coordinator: Daleisha Myers ~ daleisha.myers@pgcps.org


Vansville Elementary School

6813 Ammendale Road, Beltsville, MD  20705
Principal:  Tom Smith ~ tom.smith@pgcps.org
301.931.2830    Fax:  301.931.2840
PDS Coordinators: Shevika Couchman ~ shevika.couchman@ pgcps.org
Tamara McRae ~ tamara.mcrae@pgcps.org


Whitehall Elementary School

3901 Woodhaven Lane, Bowie, MD 20715
Principal: Prentince Christian ~ pa.christian@pgcps.org
301-805-1000 Fax: 301-805-1006
PDS Coordinator: Dawn Wine ~ dawn.wine@pgcps.org


Secondary PDS   ~  
Prince George’s County

Bowie High School
15200 Annapolis Road, Bowie, MD 20715
301.805.2600     Fax: 301.805.2619
Principal: Robynne Prince ~ robynne.prince@pgcps.org
PDS Coordinators: James Hargraves ~ james.hargraves@pgcps.org
Dives Lopes ~ dives.lopes@pgcps.org


Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School

13725 Briarwood Drive, Lauren, MD  20708
301.497.3620   Fax:  301.497.3637
Principal:  John Mangnum ~ john.mangrum@pgcps.org
PDS Coordinator: Steve Mellen ~ steve.mellen@pgcps.org