

63rd Annual Conference - 6 March 2021 "Writing and Teaching Justice in an Age of Unrest" Hosted by the University of the District of Columbia

Virtual Conference Link:

https://universityofdc.webex.com/universityofdc/j.php?MTID=mcee71be25694c4ad3938b1e392e2eecb

Registration fees are optional this year, but you can make a donation here:

https://forms.gle/42NqGJ2Q2yxUwt9Z6

Program

9:30 – 10:00 AM: Meet and Greet and Orientation to the Webex space

10:00 - 10:15 AM: Introductory Remarks and Welcome

• La Tanya Rogers (Fisk University), President, CEA-MAG.

<u>10:20 - 11:00: Panel 1 - Entrapment and Escape</u>

- S. Selina Jamil (Prince George's Community College) "The "Well-Sprung Trap' in 'The Answer Is No"
- Albert Pearsall and Lawrence Covington (University of the District of Columbia) "Responding to the COVID-19: Attaining Academic Success through Transformative Learning"
- Tawnya Azar (George Mason University)
 "Bridging the Digital Divide: Community Engagement in a Pandemic"

11:10 - 11:55: Keynote Speaker

José R. Ballesteros (St. Mary's College of Maryland)

12:00 - 12:30: Lunch Break

12:30 - 1:10: Panel 2 – Death Diaries

- David Kaloustian (Bowie State University)
 - "'Public Good and Private Mischief': The Individual and the Universal in Camus's *The Plague*"
- Amy Branam Armiento (Frostburg State University)
 - "Poe's 'The Masque of the Red Death': A Tale for our Time"

1:20 - 2:00: Panel 3 – Forked Tongue

- Aparajita De, Helene Krauthamer, Cherie Ann Turpin, and Ada Vilageliu-Diaz (University of the District of Columbia)
 - "English at the Intersection"

2:00 - 2:30 PM: Short Business Meeting and Closing "Reception"

Keynote Speaker José R. Ballesteros



José R. Ballesteros has been a faculty member at Saint Mary's College of Maryland, the National Honors Public College, in the Department of International Languages and Cultures since 2002. He has supported students of color and first-generation students since the early 1990s as a teaching assistant and mentor through the University of Kansas' *Hawklink Program*. At St. Mary's, José co-created and until recently was associate director of the DeSousa-Brent Program.

The program's retention and graduation rates for students from underrepresented populations earned it a permanent funding grant from the State of Maryland in 2019. He is also the Director of Equity Programming at St. Mary's. José has a Ph.D. from the University of Kansas. He is a contributing poetry editor for the Library of Congress's *Handbook of Latin American Studies* and the co-author of the Spanish literature textbook *Voces de España*. He is a published poetry translator and the owner and editor of the literary press Zozobra Publishing, the premier publisher of regional Latinx poets. His own poetry has been anthologized and appears in various journals in the US. He is the author of the book of poems *Lovedust* (Izote Press).

2021 CONFERENCE PLANNING COMMITTEE

- Program Chair: Bishnu Ghimire, College of Southern Maryland
- **Site Chair**: Beth Baldwin, Prince Georges Community College
- **CFP Coordinator**: David Kaloustian, Bowie State University
- Christopher Bell Prize Coordinator: Ada Vilageliu-Diaz, University of the District of Columbia
- **Evaluation Coordinator**: Stephen Lessner
- **President**: La Tanya Rogers, Fisk University

CURRENT OFFICERS

- **President**: La Tanya Rogers (lrogers@fisk.edu), Fisk University
- Conference Program Committee Chair: Bishnu Ghimire, College of Southern Maryland
- Treasurer: Helene Krauthamer, University of the District of Columbia
- **Secretary**: Linda Di Desidero, University of Maryland Global Campus
- *CEA Mid-Atlantic Review* Editors: Horacio Sierra, Bowie State University and Marlon Moore, U.S. Naval Academy
- Liaison to National: Linda Di Desidero, University of Maryland -Global Campus

2020-2021 EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

- Lena Ampadu
- Beth Baldwin
- Elizabeth Benton
- Swift Dickison
- Linda Di Desidero
- Bishnu Ghimire
- Alexander Howe
- David Kaloustian
- Helene Krauthamer
- Terry Smith Kundell
- Steve Lessner
- La Tanya Rogers
- Joan Romano Shifflett
- Horacio Sierra
- Ada Vilageliu-Diaz

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL EMERITI

- Virginia Carruthers
- Michael Eckert
- Charlie Ewers

CEA-MAG Website:

http://www.bowiestate.edu/ceamag