

66th Annual Conference - Friday, 15 March 2024 "Transformations"

Hosted by the University of the District of Columbia Building 71 (4250 Connecticut Avenue, NW) 4th Floor (Rooms 7A, 7B, Event Space 8, and Dean's Event Space)

Preliminary Program

9:00 – 9:30 AM: Welcome/ Meet and Greet/ Continental Breakfast (Lobby - 4th floor)

Session I

9:30 - 10:30 AM

Session IA: Revamping Composition Pedagogies: Room 7A

Moderator: Pearlie Peters (Rider University)

- Bethany Monea (University of the District of Columbia) Making Writing Meaningful at the Nexus of High School and College
- Christian Aguiar (University of the District of Columbia) Transforming a Video Research Assignment: A User's Guide
- Johanna Pentikainen (University of Lapland) Liberating voices other than one's own by combining academic research, somatic practice and creative writing

Session IB: Generative AI: Threat or Promise?: Room 7B

Moderator: Bishnu Ghimire (College of Southern Maryland)

- Brianna Rae Johns (Howard University) Censorship in the Digital Age: AI and Book Banning
- David Kaloustian (Bowie State University) Reports of the Death of the Author Have Been Greatly Exaggerated—Until Now? Generative AI and the Concept of The Author
- Sean Gordon Lewis (Mt. St. Mary's University) Heuresis, Taxis, and the Rhetorical Problem of AI

Session II

10:30 - 11:15 AM, Room 7B

Panel Presentation: Black Leadership and Shared Humanity: a Conversation about How a Black-Led DC Community Organization Survived 2020 because of Transformational Relationships

Moderator: LaTanya L. Rogers (Fisk University)

Phyllis Ryder (The George Washington University), Mary Brown (Life Pieces to Masterpieces), Wendy Wagner (Nashman Center for Civic Engagement and Public Service)

PLENARY

11:30 am - 12:20 pm, Dean's Event Space

Introduction to Keynote Speaker: CEAMAG President Ada Vilageliu-Diaz, University of the District of Columbia

Keynote Speaker: Tricia Elam Walker, Howard University

Lunch Break & CEAMAG Business Meeting

12:20 - 1:00 PM, Event Space 8

Session III

1:00 - 2:00 PM

Session III A: Avant Garde in Literature, Film, & Art: Room 7A

Moderator: Bishnu Ghimire (College of Southern Maryland)

- Sydney Taylor (Bowie State University) The Marxist Games: An Examination of "The Hunger Games" Film Series through a Sociological Perspective
- S. Salina Jamil (Prince George's Community College) Naguib Mahfouz's "Zaabalawi"
- Michelle Barnett (Towson University) All It Takes Is One Voice

Session III B: Being the Change: Room 7B

Moderator: Craig Wynne (University of the District of Columbia)

- Catherine Emanuelle (University of Wisconsin) Experiential Learning Experiences that Advance Campus and Community Racial and Restorative Justice
- Kristin Shimmin (Frostburg State University) Building a New Institution out of the Decline of Science in England: A Case Study of the Narrative Topoi Founding the British Association for the Advancement of Science (1831)
- Cherie Ann Turpin (University of the District of Columbia) How to Use your Power as an Educator to Protect Academic Freedom and Democracy in Higher Education

Session IV

2:15 - 3:15 PM

Session IV A: Avant Garde in Literature, Film, & Art: Room 7A

Moderator: Steven T. Lessner (Northern Virginia Community College)

- Kevin Kehrwald (Frostburg State University) Seeing Ourselves: The Transformative Use of Film in the Classroom
- Craig Wynne (University of the District of Columbia) Reconstructing Romantic Tropes in The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel: A New Angle on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
- Jessica Hausman (Georgian Court University) "To bend and align reality": Narrative Control and Transformation in Hernan Diaz's *Trust*

Session IV B: Being the Change: Room 7B

Moderator:

- Aparajita De and Helene Krauthamer (University of the District of Columbia) Fostering Belonging and Leading Change
- David M. Jones (University of Wisconsin) "Divisive Concepts," Right-Wing Authoritarianism, and Hostility towards Marginalized Identities: Personal Pathways to Wholeness and Resistance
- Owen Shin (Unaffiliated scholar) Engagement, Objectivity, and Student Agency: Critical Race Theory and Its Application to Secondary School Curriculums

Session V:

3:30 -4:50 PM: Student Papers: Room 7B

Moderator: Ada Vilageliu-Diaz (University of the District of Columbia)

- Erin Green (University of Maryland) "Cozy With Who I Am": Black Trans Storytelling as Community Organizing
- Robert G. Butler (Arkansas State University) There is a Better Way to Educate: Transformation of the U.S. Education System
- Kevin Lopez-Cruz (DuVal High School) Being The Mid-Atlantic Review's Assistant Editor
- Sara Abi Villanueva (Texas Tech University) A Critical Reflection on Poetry and Freire: One Graduate Student's Transformative Journey
- Valerie Smith (University of South Florida) Decolonizing Composition Classrooms: Incorporating Autoethnography and Narratives in Writing Classrooms to Boost BIPOC Students' Literacies and Esteem

Closing Reception

4:50 - 5:30 PM: Closing Reception (BYOB/W): Event Space 8

2024 Conference Planning Committee

Program Chair: Ada Vilageliu-Diaz, University of the District of Columbia
Site Chair: Helene Krauthamer, University of the District of Columbia

CFP Coordinator: David Kaloustian, Bowie State University

Christopher Bell Prize Coordinator: Selina Jamil, Prince George's Community College

Evaluation Coordinator: Steven T. Lessner, Northern Virginia Community College

Officers

President: Ada Vilageliu-Díaz, University of the District of Columbia (ada.vilageliudiaz1@udc.edu)

Vice President: Bishnu Ghimire, College of Southern Maryland

Treasurer: Helene Krauthamer, University of the District of Columbia

The CEA Mid-Atlantic Review Editor: Horacio Sierra, Bowie State University Liaison to National: Linda Di Desidero, University of Maryland - Global Campus

Immediate Past President: La Tanya Rogers, Fisk University

Executive Council

Lena Ampadu

Beth Baldwin

Linda Di Desidero

Bishnu Ghimire

Alexander Howe

Selina Jamil

David Kaloustian

Helene Krauthamer

Steven T. Lessner

La Tanya Rogers

Joan Romano Shifflett

Horacio Sierra

Ada Vilageliu-Díaz

Executive Council Emeriti

Virginia Carruthers Michael Eckert Charlie Ewers

CEA-MAG Website: http://www.bowiestate.edu/ceamag