Skip to Main Content
Navigation

New Student Orientation

Welcome to Bowie State University (BSU)! Your college career begins when you sign up for New Student Orientation (NSO), a three-part program designed to help you get started at BSU. During NSO, we work to help you get familiar with the campus; test your reading, writing and math skills and help you select your first classes.
 

In short, this three-part orientation program consists of:

  • University Testing Services, the first part of your orientation experience. Placement testing is mandatory for all new freshman and transfer students without college-level math and English. For additional information on the placement exam, please see the University Testing Services website.

  • Academic Advising Center, the second part of your orientation. This office will direct you to advising and help register for classes. For more information, contact Dr. Yvette C. Galloway: 301-860-4072 or AdvisingBSU@bowiestate.edu.
  • Discover BSU, the third and final part of your orientation is designed to assist you with a smooth transition to college. Freshman students will attend either a one-day orientation session or overnight orientation session, while transfer students attend a one-day session. For more information, contact Ms. Tamisha Ponder at 301-860-4406 or DiscoverBSU@bowiestate.edu or visit the Discover BSU page.

Freshman Student Orientation

  • Wednesday, June 7, 2017
    REGISTER
  • Sunday, June 11 - Tuesday June 13, 2017 (overnight session)
    REGISTER
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017
    REGISTER
  • Sunday, July 9 - Tuesday July 11, 2017 (overnight session)
    REGISTER
  • Wednesday, July 19, 2017
    REGISTER
  • Sunday, July 23 - Tuesday July 25, 2017 (overnight session)
    REGISTER
  • Wednesday, August 9, 2017
    REGISTER
  • Wednesday, August 16, 2017
    REGISTER

Transfer Student Orientation