Skip to Main Content
Navigation

Clubs and Organizations

The Office of Student Life is a student centered office that coexists as an integral part of the educational process at Bowie State University. Our primary focus is to enhance and compliment the academic experience for BSU students by providing educational, cultural, social, vocational, recreational and spiritual programs and activities.

Student organizations help to support and enrich the academic experience for all students. There are over 50 clubs and organizations for students to get involved with, ranging from academic and spirituality focused organizations to student leadership, fraternities and sororities, student government, and commuter involvement. No matter what your interests are, there is a student organization for you here at Bowie State University! 

2018-2019 Student Clubs and Organizations

The following are many of the registered organizations currently functioning on the BSU campus. We welcome you to become a student leader and get involved on campus life, because it will greatly enhance your college experience.

Jump to: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S V Z

A

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Eta Chapter

National Website
President: Charisma Mathews - rizmoc@yahoo.com
Advisor: Dorothy Wigglesworth - dwigglesworth@bowiestate.edu

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. 

National Website
President: Erick Moore - mooreerick29@yahoo.com
Advisor: Kala Richardson - krichardson@bowiestate.edu

American Sign Language Club    

Bring awareness to and give students the ability and knowledge to interact with the deaf community.

President: Akiras McCants - akiras.mccants@gmail.com
Advisor: Emory Perkins - eperkins@bowiestate.edu

Artist Guild       

Community of collaborating artist who produce art in multiple formats.

President: Mia Joseph - miasjroom@yahoo.com
Advisor: Tewodross Melchishia Williams - tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu

B

Bethel Campus Fellowship         

National Interdenominational organization that provides regular opportunities to engage in Bible studies, worship and prayer.

President: Daniel Akinribade - akinribade0921@gmail.com
Advisor: Eric Bonsu - ebonsu@bowiestate.edu

Black Male Agenda        

African centered organization that enhances the mental, spiritual, and physical well-being of BSU male students.

President: Anthony Adedoyin - adedoyin.anthony@gmail.com
Advisor: Keith Hicks - khicks@bowiestate.edu

Black Minds of Business

Help students by providing knowledge and information to determine future outside of college.

President: Armani Jenkins - armani.jenkins24@outlook.com
Advisor: Tariiq Walton - twalton@bowiestate.edu

Bowie State Education Association         

Focuses on three core values: teacher quality, political action and community outreach.

President: Caitlin McCrimmon - ccmccrimmon@gmail.com
Advisor: Barbara Smith - bsmith@bowiestate.edu

Bowie State University Cheer PHI           

Uplift athletes and student body to create school spirit.

President: Alexis Pumphrey - alexis.pumphrey5@gmail.com
Advisor: Thomasina Boardley - tboardley@bowiestate.edu

BSU Gospel Chior           

Bowie State University Gospel Choir

President: Andre Peterson
Advisor: LaTonya Wrenn - lwrenn@bowiestate.edu

C

Caribbean Club

Promote cultural awareness and education on Caribbean decent.

President: Cobi Heron - heronc0708@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Mark Guthrie - Mguthrie@bowiestate.edu

Chi Eta Phi Sorority, Inc.

National Website

President: Adedolap Adegbite - adegitea1109@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Ina Ramos - iramos@bowiestate.edu

Collegiate 100 Black Women

National Women's organization encourage accountability, promote self-worth, heath and wellness, and community service.

President: Khelli Bryant - khellibryant@gmail.com
Advisor: LaToya Walters - lwalters@bowiestate.edu

Collegiate Entrepreneur's Organization (CEO)    

Inform, support and inspire college students to be entrepreneurial and seek opportunity through enterprise creation

President: Kelvin Iloanya - kelvinIloanya@gmail.com
Advisor: Johnetta Hardy - jhardy@bowiestate.edu

Commuter Student Association

Commuter Student Association, advocates for commuter students.

President: Kai Holmes-Cook - kaiholmescook@gmail.com
Advisor: Orlando Walker II - owalker@bowiestate.edu

D

Data and Cloud Computing Society        

Educational and social organization with an interest in cloud computing, data, and information technology.

President: Mia Smith - smithm0328@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Clarence Ray - cray@bowiestate.edu

E

Elite Modeling Troupe  

On-Campus Modeling Team

President: Taren St.Clair - tarenstclair@gmail.com
Advisor: Denine House - dhouse@bowiestate.edu

F

Feathers of Ma'at Inc.   

Group of women interested in African Centered Paradigm geared towards building knowledge of self.

President: Kassiah Drummond - kassiah7@yahoo.com
Advisor: Mariam Rucker-Shamu - mruckershamu@bowiestate.edu

Food Recovery Network

Fight food waste and reduce hunger in the community.

President: Sarah Yasmin - yasins1028@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Anne Osano - aosano@bowiestate.edu

G

Gay Straight Alliance     

LGBTQ and Straight-Allies social and educational activities.

President: Jade Cheatham - cheathamj1119@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Derrick Bullock - dbullock@bowiestate.edu

Groove Phi Groove Social Fellowship, Inc.           

National Website

President: Daivon Corley - duncorley@yahoo.com
Advisor: Michael Hughes - mhughes@bowiestate.edu

H

HandSome        

Develop a campus community of Kings with aspiration of excellence, networking and fellowship.

President: Olajide Iyanda - olajideiyanda14@gmail.com
Advisor: Israel Ibidapo - iibidapo@bowiestate.edu

I

IMPACT

On-Campus Dance Team

President: Briana Hazel - hazel.briana2@gmail.com
Advisor: Artie Travis - atravis@bowiestate.edu

Inventors Club 

Established for BSU inventors to network with peers and brainstorm new ideas.

President: Michael Abobor - deliaconcepts1@gmail.com
Advisor: Eric Bonsu - ebonsu@bowiestate.edu

J

Japanese Culture Appreciation Club       

Introduce students to Japanese culture, encourage international studies and travel.

President: Mayah Henderson - mayahlhenderson@gmail.com
Advisor: Fusako Ito - fito@bowiestate.edu

K

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc.  

National Website

President: JaWaun Williams - juwaun.williams917@gmail.com
Advisor: Vincent Harrington - vharrington@bowiestate.edu

Keep Bowie Clean          

Monthly campus cleanups, spread awareness about littering an its effects on campus.

President: Deja Forester-SamDab - djfs97@yahoo.com
Advisor: Monika Gross - mgross@bowiestate.edu

L

LIFT      

Uplift and lend a helping hand, Community Service Projects surrounding the BSU communities.

President: Eryka Hines - hines0910@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Kala Richardson - krichardson@bowiestate.edu

Lighthouse Campus Ministries   

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship

President: Medina Anderson - pennypleasemail@gmail.com
Advisor: Tonita Douglas - tdouglas@bowiestate.edu

M

Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources & Related Sciences 

Promote academic and professional advancement by empowering minorities in agriculture, natural resources and related sciences.

President: Keith Smith - smithkeith332@gmail.com
Advisor: Anne Osano - aosano@bowiestate.edu

N

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People     

Bowie State University Student Chapter

President: Derrick Hinton - hintondesuccess@gmail.com
Advisor: Carmen Walker - cwalker@bowiestate.edu

National Association of Black Accountants          

Nationwide membership organization which encourages and serves minorities in the accounting profession.

President: Talitha Johnson - talitha.johnson3@gmail.com
Advisor: Symon Manyara - smanyara@bowiestate.edu

National Association of Black Social Workers      

Bowie State University Chapter

President: Monicia Christian - mjchristian94@gmail.com
Advisor: Phyllis Gillians - pgillians@bowiestate.edu

National Association of Blacks in Criminal Justice, Inc.    

Bowie State University Chapter

President: Andrea Mwando - andreamwando@aol.com
Advisor: Matasha Harris m - lharris@bowiestate.edu

National Council of Negro Women         

Women with a purpose and goal to reach out and discuss the important healthy life and living to minority women.

President: Arcadia Winston - arcadiaw09@gmail.com
Advisor: Shirelle Briscoe - sbriscoe@bowiestate.edu

National Society of Black Engineers        

Support and promote the aspirations of college students in STEM.

President: Jennifer Fontilus - jenniferfontilus@gmail.com
Advisor: Daryl Stone - dstone@bowiestate.edu

National Society of Leadership and Success        

Step-by-step program for students to build leadership skills.

President: LaTasha Verner - bsusocietyofleadership@gmail.com
Advisor: Amy Glass - aglass@bowiestate.edu

Navigators        

Weekly Bible study, scripture memory, retreats, conferences and mentorship.

President: Isaiah Hamlin - isaiah.hamlin1@gmail.com
Advisor: Kimberly Daniel - kdaniel@bowiestate.edu

Nurturing Our Youth Seeking Excellence

Students mentoring foster care children.

President: Alexis Stokes - alexisstokes49@gmail.com
Advisor: Jatina Cooke - jcooke@bowiestate.edu

O

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.    

National Website

President: Al-Malik Blake - mgblake32@gmail.com
Advisor: Damon Wilson - dwilson@bowiestate.edu

P

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.  

National Website

President: Jordan Burnett - jordanburnett34@yahoo.com
Advisor: Orlando Walker II - owalker@bowiestate.edu

Psychological Society    

Provide resources and information to those interested in psychology.

President: Troy Kearse - kearset1014@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Ometha Lewis-Jack - olewis-jack@bowiestate.edu

Q

Queen in You   

Training future queens of professional development, self-esteem, etiquette, scholarship and service.

President: Taylor Hailstock - taylor.hailstock@gmail.com
Advisor: Andrea Calloway - acalloway@bowiestate.edu

R

Raices  

Spanish-based organization, educate, empower and give back to the Bowie community.

President: Melisa Pena - penam1207@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Lucia Santacruz -lsantacruzkozarinas@bowiestate.edu

S

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

National Website

President: Ebony Lee - eliteel@gmail.com
Advisor: Sammye Miller - smiller@bowiestate.edu

Social Work Club            

Community outreach, promote the social work profession by helping to plan and implement life-changing programs.

President: Aliya McCants - mccantsa0927@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Carl Algood - calgood@bowiestate.edu

Solace  

Uplifting, Healing and education on sexual assualt and harrasment

President: Shakyrah Harrison - shakyrah.harrison@outlook.com
Advisor: Brittany Johnson - bnjohnson@bowiestate.edu

Student Athlete Advisory Committee     

To enhance student-athlete experience by promoting a postitive student-athlete image.

President: Desha Manago - managod0129@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Emerald Fulmore - efulmore@bowiestate.edu

Society for Collegiate Leadership & Achievement    

Bowie State University Chapter

President: Ayana Kerr - bedneya0426@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Anthony Whittington - awhittington@bowiestate.edu

V

Voice of Resurrection   

Bring together individuals in the field of music, writing and speaking to inspire and revive students in the knowledge of Christ.

President: Golden Aina - ainag0524@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Rose Subryan - ssubryan@bowiestate.edu

Z

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.         

National Website

President: Daisha Wheeler - daishawheeler@gmail.com
Advisor: Orlando Walker II - owalker@bowiestate.edu