Skip to Main Content
Navigation

Clubs and Organizations

The Office of Student Life is a student centered office that coexists as an integral part of the educational process at Bowie State University. Our primary focus is to enhance and compliment the academic experience for BSU students by providing educational, cultural, social, vocational, recreational and spiritual programs and activities.

Student organizations help to support and enrich the academic experience for all students. There are over 50 clubs and organizations for students to get involved with, ranging from academic and spirituality focused organizations to student leadership, fraternities and sororities, student government, and commuter involvement. No matter what your interests are, there is a student organization for you here at Bowie State University! 

The following are many of the registered organizations currently functioning on the BSU campus. We welcome you to become a student leader and get involved on campus life, because it will greatly enhance your college experience.

 

 

American Institute of Graphic Arts

Advisor: Jennifer White Johnson — jwhitejohnson@bowiestate.edu
President: Shannon Jones — Shannon.n.jones@comcast.net

 

African Student Association

Advisor: Mark Guthrie — mguthrie@bowiestate.edu
President: Esemon Aledan - e.aledan@gmail.com 

 

Authentix Dance Team

Advisor: Jennifer Dorsey: jdorsey@bowiestate.edu
President: Briena Crawford: briena.crawford@gmail.com

 

Bethel Campus Fellowship

Advisor: Dr. George Ude gude@bowiestate.edu
President: Adebowale Jummy Owookade — jummyowookade@yahoo.com

 

Black Male Agenda

Advisor: Keith Hicks — khicks@bowiestate.edu
President: Demetrius Keller — demetriuskeller96@gmail.com

 

Blackout Hip Hop Dance Team

Advisor: Phyllis Gillian: pgillian@bowiestate.edu 
President: Breona Harris : bdhmovement@gmail.com

 

BSU Artist Guild

Advisor: Jennifer Johnson: jjohnson@bowiestate.edu
President:
Mia Joseph: miasjroom@yahoo.com

 

BSU Cycling Club

www.bsucycling.com

Advisor: Dr. Petrina Shatteen -pshatteen@bowiestate.edu
President: Christopher Baugher — chris@legislator.com

 

Caribbean Club

Advisor:  Mark Guthrie: mguthrie@bowiestate.edu
President: Robert Thomas: roberthomas19@yahoo.com

 

Cheerleaders of BSU

Advisor: Thomasina Boardley — tboardley@bowiestate.edu
President: Dominique Casey — casey_dominique@yahoo.com

 

Collegiate 100 Black Women

Advisor:  LaToya Walters: lwalters@bowiestate.edu
President:  Tinyeka Easton: Bsuc100@gmail.com

 

Commuter Student Association

Advisor: Ms. Sharon Glaster — sglaster@bowiestate.edu
President:
 

 

Education Innovation Initiative Society

Advisor: Terry Lawlah: tlawlah@bowiestate.edu
President: Joshua Duster: jduster21b@gmail.com

 

Feathers of Ma’at

Advisor: Monifa Love — loveasante@me.com
President: Reale Heyward — heywardreale@gmail.com

 

Gay Straight Alliance

Advisor: Derrick Bullock: dbullock@bowiestate.edu
President: Makara Pollard: mpollard96@yahoo.com

 

I Am That Girl (IATG)

Advisor: Annette Wedderburn: awedderburn@bowiestate.edu
President: Jehan Assata: jehanassata@gmail.com

 

IMPACT Dance Team

Advisor: Jennifer Dorsey: jdorsey@bowiestate.edu
President: Aerika Anderson: a.aerika@gmail.com

 

 League of Extraordinary Gentlemen

Advisor: Darrin Branch: dbranch@bowiestat.edu

President: Anthony Williams: williamsanthony443@gmail.com

 

L.I.F.T

Advisor: Kala Richardson — krichardson@bowiestate.edu
President: Ryan Washington: washingtonryan96@gmail.com

 

Lighthouse Campus Ministries

Advisor: Tonita Douglas — tdouglas@bowiestate.edu
President: Medina Anderson — pennypleasemail@gmail.com

 

Maryland State Legislator (MSL)

Advisor: Benjamin Arah: barah@bowiestate.edu
President: Martin Mitchell: mitchellmartin1549@gmail.com

 

Minority Association of Pre-Medical Students (MAPS)

Advisor:  Steve Sheffield: ssheffield@bowiestate.edu
President: Alandra Brown: alandrabrowncox@gmail.com

 

Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Related Sciences (MANNRS)

Advisor: Anne Osano: aosano@bowiestated.edu
President: Kayla Adams: kaylafadams@gmail.com

 

Muslim Student Association — MSA

Advisor: Tewodross Melchishua — tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu
President: Khalil Abdul-Aziz — khalil.jasur96@gmail.com  

 

The Navigators

Advisor: Dr. Barbara Jackson — bjackson@bowiestate.edu  
President: Lace Coleman — laceross_29@yahoo.com

 

NAACP

Advisor: Darren Swain — dmswain001@gmail.com
President: Charnell Ferguson — charnel.ferg15@gmail.com

 

National Association of Black Accountants (NABA)

Advisor: Symon Manyara: smanyara@bowiestate.edu
President: Chuk Onaku: C_onuaku@hotmail.com

 

The National Council of Negro Women (NCNW)

Advisor: Dr. Shirelle Briscoe — drsfbriscoe@gmail.com
President: Naiya Sargent — bsuncnw@yahoo.com

 

National Society of Leadership and Success

Advisor: Dr. Shirelle Briscoe — drsfbriscoe@gmail.com
President: Adiat Saba — adiatsaba@gmail.com

 

Psi Chi International Honor Society, BSU Chapter

Advisor: Katrina Kardiasmenos — kkardiasmenos@bowiestate.edu
President: Shinzira Shomade — shinzira@gmail.com

 

Racies

Advisor: Anthony Ramos — anthonyramos@gmail.com
President: Steven Reyes — steven.reyes67@yahoo.com

 

Residence Hall Association

Advisor: Ms. Trenita Johnson — tjohnson@bowiestate.edu
President:
 

 

Semations

Advisor: Daryl Stone: dstone@bowiestate.edu
President: Curtis Carr Jr.: Curtis.semation@gmail.com

 

Society of Softball Sisters

Advisor: Ashley Cook: acook@bowiestate.edu
President: Morgan Powell: powell.morgana@gmail.com

 

Student Alumni Association (SAA)

Advisor: Annette Wedderburn — awedderburn@bowiestate.edu
President: Ashia Gross — ashiag2013@gmail.com

 

Salvation and Praise

Advisor: Dr. Anne Osano — aosano@bowiestate.edu
President: Noel Lewis — Lewisn0916@gmail.com  

 

Social Work Club

Advisor: Dr. Carl Algood — calgood@bowiestate.edu  
Vice President: Ashely Wade — ashley.wade94@yahoo.com

 

Society of Sophisticated Ladies

Advisor: Thomasina Boardley: tboardley@bowiestate.edu
President:  Sheila Matthews: imsheilamatthews@gmail.com

 

The Society for Collegiate Leadership and Achievement

Advisor: Felicia Valdez: fvaldez@bowiestate.edu
President: Fatma Abukar: fatma.abukar@gmail.com

 

Symphony of Soul (SOS)

Advisor: Billy Bennett: bbennett@bowiestate.edu
President:
Jalil Clark: clark.jalil@yahoo.com