Skip to Main Content
Navigation

Clubs and Organizations

The Office of Student Life is a student centered office that coexists as an integral part of the educational process at Bowie State University. Our primary focus is to enhance and compliment the academic experience for BSU students by providing educational, cultural, social, vocational, recreational and spiritual programs and activities.

Student organizations help to support and enrich the academic experience for all students. There are over 50 clubs and organizations for students to get involved with, ranging from academic and spirituality focused organizations to student leadership, fraternities and sororities, student government, and commuter involvement. No matter what your interests are, there is a student organization for you here at Bowie State University! 

2018-2019 Student Clubs and Organizations

The following are many of the registered organizations currently functioning on the BSU campus. We welcome you to become a student leader and get involved on campus life, because it will greatly enhance your college experience.

Jump to: A B C E G I K L N O P Q R S T Z

A

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Eta Chapter

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Charisma Mathews - rizmoc@yahoo.com
Advisor: Dorothy Wigglesworth - dwigglesworth@bowiestate.edu

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Erick Moore - mooreerick29@yahoo.com
Advisor: Kala Richardson - krichardson@bowiestate.edu

B

Bethel Campus Fellowship

National Interdenominational organization that provides regular opportunities to engage in bible studies, worship and prayer.
President: Daniel Akinribade - akinribade0921@gmail.com
Advisor: Eric Bonsu - ebonsu@bowiestate.edu

Bowie State University Cheerleading

Uplift athletes and student body to create school spirit.
President: Alexis Pumphrey alexis.pumphrey5@gmail.com
Advisor: Thomasina Boardley tboardley@bowiestate.edu

C

Caribbean Club

Promote cultural awareness and education on Caribbean descent.
President: Irline Cadet - irlinec@yahoo.fr
Advisor: Mark Guthrie - Mguthrie@bowiestate.edu

Chi Eta Phi Sorority, Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Adedolap Adegbite - adegitea1109@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Ina Ramos - iramos@bowiestate.edu

Collegiate 100 Black Women

National Women's organization encourage accountability, promote self-worth, heath and wellness, and community service.
President: Khelli Bryant - khellibryant@gmail.com
Advisor: LaToya Walters - lwalters@bowiestate.edu

Commuter Student Association

Commuter Student Association, advocates for commuter students.
President: Kai Holmes-Cook - kaiholmescook@gmail.com
Advisor: Orlando Walker II - owalker@bowiestate.edu

E

Elite Modeling Troupe

On-Campus Modeling Team
President: Taren St.Clair - tarenstclair@gmail.com
Advisor: Denine House - dhouse@bowiestate.edu

G

Gay Straight Alliance

LGBTQ and Straight-Allies social and educational activities.
President: Jade Cheatham - cheathamj1119@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Derrick Bullock - dbullock@bowiestate.edu

Groove Phi Groove Social Fellowship, Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Daivon Corley - duncorley@yahoo.com
Advisor: Michael Hughes - mhughes@bowiestate.edu

I

IMPACT

On-Campus Dance Team
President: Briana Hazel - hazel.briana2@gmail.com
Advisor: Artie Travis - atravis@bowiestate.edu

K

Kappa Kappa Psi, National Honorary Band Fraternity, Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Trevor Smith - tre_smith93@yahoo.com
Advisor: Billy Bennett - bbennett@bowiestate.edu

Keep Bowie Clean

Monthly campus cleanups, spread awareness about littering an its effects on campus.
President: Deja Forester-SamDab - djfs97@yahoo.com
Advisor: Monika Gross - mgross@bowiestate.edu

L

LIFT

Uplift and lend a helping hand, Community Service Projects surrounding the BSU communities.
President: Eryka Hines - hines0910@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Kala Richardson - krichardson@bowiestate.edu

Lighthouse Campus Ministries

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship
President: Medina Anderson - pennypleasemail@gmail.com
Advisor: Tonita Douglas - tdouglas@bowiestate.edu

 

N

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

Bowie State University Student Chapter
President: Derrick Hinton - hintondesuccess@gmail.com
Advisor: Carmen Walker - cwalker@bowiestate.edu

National Association of Black Accountants

Nationwide membership organization which encourages and serves minorities in the accounting profession.
President: Talitha Johnson - talitha.johnson3@gmail.com
Advisor: Symon Manyara - smanyara@bowiestate.edu

National Council of Negro Women

Women with a purpose and goal to reach out and discuss the important healthy life and living to minority women.
President: Arcadia Winston - arcadiaw09@gmail.com
Advisor: Shirelle Briscoe - sbriscoe@bowiestate.edu

National Society of Black Engineers

Support and promote the aspirations of collegieate students in STEM.
President: Jennifer Fontilus - jenniferfontilus@gmail.com
Advisor: Daryl Stone - dstone@bowiestate.edu

National Society of Leadership and Success

Step-by-step program for students to build leadership skills.
President: LaTasha Verner - tosh09@live.com
Advisor: Amy Glass - aglass@bowiestate.edu

Navigators

Weekly bible study, scripture memory, retreats, conferences and mentorship.
President: Isaiah Hamlin - isaiah.hamlin1@gmail.com
Advisor: Kimberly Daniel - kdaniel@bowiestate.edu

Nurturing Our Youth

Seeking Excellence Students mentoring foster care children.
President: Alexis Stokes - alexisstokes49@gmail.com
Advisor: Jatina Cooke - jcooke@bowiestate.edu

O

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Al-Malik Blake - mgblake32@gmail.com
Advisor: Damon Wilson - dwilson@bowiestate.edu

P

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity , Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Jordan Burnett - jordanburnett34@yahoo.com
Advisor: PENDING PENDING

Psychological Society

Provide resources and information to those interested in psychology.
President: Troy Kearse - kearset1014@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: PENDING PENDING

Q

Queen in You

Training future queens of professional development, self-esteem, etiquette, scholarship and service.
President: Taylor Hailstock - taylor.hailstock@gmail.com
Advisor: PENDING PENDING

R

Raices

Spanish based organization, educate, empower and give back to the Bowie community.
President: Melisa Pena - penam1207@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Lucia Santacrus - lsantacruzkozarinas@bowiestate.edu

S

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Ebony Lee - EliteEL@gmail.com
Advisor: Sammye Miller - smiller@bowiestate.edu

Social Work Club

Community outreach, promote the social work profession by helping to plan and implement life-changing programs.
President: Aliya McCants - mccantsa0927@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Carl Algood - calgood@bowiestate.edu

Solace

Uplifting, Healing and education on sexual assault and harassment
President: Shakyrah Harrison - shakyrah.harrison@outlook.com
Advisor: Brittany Johnson - bnjohnson@bowiestate.edu

Student Athlete Advisory Committee

To enhance student-athlete experience by promoting a positive student athlete image.
President: Desha Manago - managod0129@students.bowiestate.edu
Advisor: Emerald Fulmore - efulmore@bowiestate.edu

 

T

Tau Beta Sigma, National Honorary Band Sorority, Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Rolanda Roy - rolandaroy@yahoo.com
Advisor: Billy Bennett - bbennett@bowiestate.edu

Z

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Campus Fraternity and Sorority
President: Daisha Wheeler - daishawheeler@gmail.com
Advisor: Orlando Walker II - owalker@bowiestate.edu