Skip to Main Content
Navigation

Office of Greek Life


Joining a fraternity or sorority is an excellent way to get involved at Bowie State University.  The Office of Greek Life supports a learning community that inspires students to become involved outside of the classroom by finding a sense of community through brotherhood and sisterhood, character development, and academic initiatives. 

Greek-Letter organizations  instill in their members the importance of maintaining high moral, social and intellectual standards. 

Membership provides opportunities for Friendship, Academic Excellence, Community Service, Campus Involvement, Personal Growth, Social Development, Mentoring, and Networking.

Membership is based on very specific criteria, which is set forth by the organization and Bowie State University. Students seeking membership must meet the following criteria:

  1. Have a minimum 2.7 cumulative GPA
  2. Obtained a minimum of 24 credits (indicated on a BSU transcript)
  3. Be a full-time, degree-seeking, undergraduate student registered for a minimum of 12 credits

Transfer students must have the following:

  1. Have a minimum  2.7 cumulative GPA from Bowie State University (GPAs from previous institutions will not be considered)
  2. Obtained a minimum of 30 credits (indictated on a BSU transcript)
  3. Have matriculated at BSU for at least one semester
 

The following Greek Letter Organizations have active chapters here at Bowie State University:

 

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Advisor: Dorothy Wigglesworth: dwigglesworth@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Chrysten Brown: chhrystenb2013@gmail.com

 

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Advisor: Kala Richardson: krichardson@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Christopher Stone: kchristopherstone@gmail.com

 

Chi Eta Phi Sorority, Inc.

Advisor: Ina Ramos: iramos@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Christina Goss: ccgoss6486@aol.com

 

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. 

Advisor: Ina Ramos: iramos@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Tonaye Hinton: tonayehinton1913@gmail.com

 

Groove Phi Groove Social Fellowship, Inc. 

Advisor:  Michael S. Hughes: mhughes@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President:  Raphael Hughes: rappy301@yahoo.com

 

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Advisor: Dr. David Reed: dreed@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Brandon Gamble: brandon.gamble7@gmail.com

 

Kappa Kappa Psi

Advisor: (INACTIVE)

Chapter President: 

 

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

Advisor: Damon Wilson: dwilson@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: William Cooper: williamcooper95@live.com

 

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

Advisor: Darrin Swain: dswain@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Deondre Mingo-Smith: deondremingo@gmail.com

 

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

Advisor: Sammye Miller: smiller@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Janelle Mathis: jmathis0303@gmail.com

 

Swing Phi Swing

Advisor: (INACTIVE)     

Chapter President: 

 

Tau Beta Sigma National Honorary Band Sorority, Inc

Advisor: Billy Bennett: bbennett@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Gena Cheremond: gena.cheremond@gmail.com

 

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. 

Advisor: Dr. Artie L. Travis: atravis@bowiestate.edu

Chapter President: Nicoleen Ochoa: ochoan18@yahoo.com