Skip to Main Content
Navigation

Office of Greek Life


Joining a fraternity or sorority is an excellent way to get involved at Bowie State University.  The Office of Greek Life supports a learning community that inspires students to become involved outside of the classroom by finding a sense of community through brotherhood and sisterhood, character development, and academic initiatives. 

Greek-Letter organizations  instill in their members the importance of maintaining high moral, social and intellectual standards. 

Membership provides opportunities for Friendship, Academic Excellence, Community Service, Campus Involvement, Personal Growth, Social Development, Mentoring, and Networking.

Membership is based on very specific criteria, which is set forth by the organization and Bowie State University. Students seeking membership must meet the following criteria:

  1. Have a minimum 2.7 cumulative GPA
  2. Obtained a minimum of 24 credits (indicated on a BSU transcript)
  3. Be a full-time, degree-seeking, undergraduate student registered for a minimum of 12 credits

Transfer students must have the following:

  1. Have a minimum  2.7 cumulative GPA from Bowie State University (GPAs from previous institutions will not be considered)
  2. Obtained a minimum of 30 credits (indicated on a BSU transcript)
  3. Have matriculated at BSU for at least one semester
 

Greek Letter Organizations

The following Greek Letter Organizations have active chapters here at Bowie State University:

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

 

- A -

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc

President: Chrysten Brown - chhrystenb2013@gmail.com           

Advisor: Dorothy Wigglesworth - dwigglesworth@bowiestate.edu

 

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

President: Christopher Stone - kchristopherstone@gmail.com    

Advisor: Kala Richardson - krichardson@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- C -

Chi Eta Phi Sorority Inc.

President: Christina Goss - ccgoss6486@aol.com         

Advisor: Ina Ramos - iramos@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- D -

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

President: Tonaye Hinton - tonayehinton1913@gmail.com          

Advisor: Ina Ramos - iramos@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- G -

Groove Phi Groove Social Fellowship Inc.

President: Raphael Hughes - rappy301@yahoo.com      

Advisor: Michael Hughes - mhughes@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- K -

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

President: Brandon Gamble - brandon.gamble7@gmail.com      

Advisor: David Reed - dreed@bowiestate.edu

 

Kappa Kappa Psi, National Honorary Band Fraternity, Inc

President: Trevor N. Smith - tre_smith93@yahoo.com    

Advisor: Billy Bennett - bbennett@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- O -

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc

President: William Cooper - williamcooper95@live.com  

Advisor: Damon Wilson - dwilson@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- P -

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc.

President: Deondre Mingo-Smith - deondremingo@gmail.com    

Advisor: Darren Swain - dswain@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- S -

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc

President: Janelle Mathis - jmathis0303@gmail.com       

Advisor: Sammye Miller - smiller@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- T -

Tau Beta Sigma National Honorary Band Sorority Inc

President: Gena Cheremond - gena.cheremond@gmail.com      

Advisor: Billy Bennett - bbennett@bowiestate.edu

 

 

- Z -

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc.

President: Nicoleen Ochoa - ochoan18@yahoo.com      

Advisor: Artie Travis - atravis@bowiestate.edu