A Message from the President

November 12, 2021

Middle States: Thank You

Dear BSU Campus Community:

The Middle States Evaluation concluded yesterday with the oral report by the Chair of the Evaluation team. The entire campus community should be proud of the evaluation report we received which reportedly affirmed evidence that we are in compliance with the seven standards for which we were evaluated.

Thank you to all who participated in the self-study and the virtual site visit. It has been a two-year process; and, while we are awaiting the final written report, I want to acknowledge the efforts that went into the preparation leading up to, and including, this week’s evaluation team virtual visit to Bowie State University.

Whether you participated on a committee or attended one of the many sessions held during the evaluation this week, your participation is greatly appreciated. On behalf of the entire BSU campus we give a special thanks to the following members of BSU campus community for their many contributions to a successful Middle States evaluation including:

Executive committee members of the MSCHE Self-Study:

  • Ms. Gayle Fink
    Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness — Office of Planning, Analysis, and Accountability (OPAA)
  • Dr. Makeba Green
    Associate Professor and Chair — Department of Social Work
  • Dr. Becky Verzinski
    Assistant Vice President for Assessment — Center for Academic Programs Assessment (CAPA)

Steering Committee:

  • Ms. Liberty Deffenbaugh
    Graduate Student Association Representative
  • Dr. Andrew Mangle
    Faculty Senate
  • Mr. Micheal McGee
    Graduate Student Association Representative
  • Dr. Sammye Miller
    Faculty Senate
  • Ms. Aquila Mitchell
    Staff Council
  • Ms. Sahira Parker
    Student Government Association Representative
  • Ms. Davine Snead
    Staff Council
  • Mr. Darren Swain
    National Alumni Association Member
  • Dr. Brandon Vinson
    Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management

Members of the Self-study Workgroups:


Requirements of Affiliation

Ms. Maisha Ali - Assistant Registrar, Office of the University Registrar

Ms. Deborah Stanley - Director, Office of Financial Aid


Standard 1 - Mission and Goals

Dr. Alan J. Anderson - Associate Professor, Natural Sciences

Dr. Sean Coleman - Assistant Professor, Educational Studies and Leadership


Standard 2 - Ethics and Integrity

Mr. Jerry Isaac - Director, Continuing Education

Dr. Enoch Osei - Assistant Professor, Accounting, Finance and Economics


Standard 3 - Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience

Dr. David Basena - Department Chair and Professor, Language, Literature & Cultural Studies

Dr. Sunando Sengupta - Professor, Accounting, Finance and Economics


Standard 4 - Support of the Student Experience

Dr. Janeula Burt - Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership

Dr. Renee Foose - Associate Professor, Educational Studies and Leadership


Standard 5 - Educational Effectiveness Assessment  

Dr. Ann Hilliard - Assistant Professor, Educational Studies and Leadership


Standard 6 - Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement

Mr. Michael Atkins - Assistant Vice President    Administration and Finance

Dr. Erica Hernandez - Assistant Professor, Psychology


Standard 7 - Governance, Leadership and Administration

Dr. Dorsha Goodman - Coordinator, Academic Advising Center

Dr. Benjamin Arah - Associate Professor, History and Government


Virtual Site Visit Student Panelists:
Kairiq Jones
Cheyvonne Armstrong 
Chidinma Ezinne 
Liberty Deffenbaugh
Micheal McGee


I especially want to take this opportunity to express my deepest appreciation to university senior leaders—the President’s Cabinet, and to each of the shared governance groups for their support throughout the evaluation process. The campus community thanks the Faculty Senate, Staff Council, the Graduate Student Association and the Student Government Association. 

Additionally, we appreciate the volunteer boards for their engagement in the evaluations process, including the BSU National Alumni Association, the BSU Foundation Board, and the Board of Visitors.

And, finally, we thank those in the Department of Event and Conference Services and the Department of Information Technology and all who worked behind the scenes providing essential support to the evaluation process including:

Ms. Denise Ward
Ms. Annette Wedderburn

In keeping with the Thanksgiving spirit, please know that I am truly thankful for the many dedicated faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as friends of the university, who make BSU a very special place to learn, live and work. 

Thank you for all that you have done and continue to do for Bowie State University to achieve our mission.

With much appreciation,


Aminta H. Breaux