Department of History & Government

Faculty and Staff

Chairperson

 Dr. Benjamin O. Arah
Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0217
301-860-3611
barah@bowiestate.edu
 Margo Buck-Hurley
Program Administrative Specialist — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communications Arts Center, Room 0205
301-860-3600
MBuckHurley@bowiestate.edu

Professors

Dr. Benjamin O. Arah, Ph.D. Dr. Benjamin O. Arah
Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0217
301-860-3611
barah@bowiestate.edu
Dr. Tamara Brown Dr. Tamara L. Brown
Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0203
301-860-3612
tlbrown@bowiestate.edu
 Dr. Karen Cook-Bell
Professor of History — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0218
301-860-3615
kcookbell@bowiestate.edu
Dr. Weldon Jackson Dr. Weldon Jackson
Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Building, Room 0209
(301) 860-3606
wjackson@bowiestate.edu
William B. Lewis, Ph.D. Dr. William B. Lewis
Professor — Department of History & Government
Coordinator of Government Program
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0202
301- 860-3602
wlewis@bowiestate.edu
M. Sammye Miller, Ph.D. Dr. M. Sammye Miller
Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 249
301-860-3664
smiller@bowiestate.edu
Frederick B. Mills, Ph.D. Dr. Frederick B. Mills
Professor —Department of History & Government
Coordinator of Philosophy Minor
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0217
301-860-3605
fmills@bowiestate.edu

Associate Professors

 Dr. Roger Davidson, Jr
Associate Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0247
(301) 860-3739
rdavidson@bowiestate.edu
D. Osei Robertson, Ph.D. Dr. Diarra Osei Robertson
Associate Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0208
301-860-3613
drobertson@bowiestate.edu
Dr. John Shook Dr. John R. Shook
Associate Professor of Philosophy - Department of History
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0249
301-860-3697
jrshook@bowiestate.edu
 Dr. Carmen Walker
Associate Professor -- Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0218
301-860-4431
cwalker@bowiestate.edu

Assistant Professors

Dr. William Allen
Assistant Professor of Philosophy — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0247
wallen@bowiestate.edu

Robert Birt, Ph.D. Dr. Robert Birt
Assistant Professor — Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0206
301-860-3646
rbirt@bowiestate.edu
 Dr. Festus Cole
Assistant Professor - Department of History & Government
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0246
301-860-3608
fcole@bowiestate.edu

Daniel P. Graham
Assistant Professor - Department of History & Government
dpgraham@bowiestate.edu

Dr. Sumanth Reddy Dr. Sumanth Reddy
Assistant Professor -- Department of History & Government
Coordinator of Geography Minor
Martin Luther King Jr., Communication Arts Center Rm. 0210
301-860-3614
sreddy@bowiestate.edu
David Leon Reed, Ph.D. Dr. David Leon Reed
Assistant Professor — Department of History & Government
Coordinator of History Education Program
Martin Luther King Jr. Communication Arts Center Rm. 0247
301-860-3893
dreed@bowiestate.edu

Lecturers

Dr. Ilyelli Ichile Dr. Ilyelli Ichile
iichile@bowiestate.edu