COVID-19 Updates

BSU is open. An initial plan to return to campus in the fall 2020 semester is now available.

Department of Fine and Performing Arts

Faculty & Staff

Faculty research and creative endeavors center on the interdisciplinary aspects of art, design, music, theatre, dance, performance art, studio, and multimedia. With continuing commitment to innovative activities, the faculty have achieved laudable success in both national and international forums of exhibitions and publications.

The perspective gained from this high level of engagement provides the diverse faculty and professional associate staff with an informed and unique pedagogical vision. The department incorporates this astute awareness of contemporary art practice, theoretical discourse, and in-depth knowledge of evolving technologies into an educational process, which is designed to enable students to achieve the successful realization of their creative projects and artistic goals. All faculty offices are now relocated to the new Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC).

Administrative Staff and Faculty

Tewodross Melchishua Williams, Dept. Chairperson
tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3731

Denise Ward
FPAC room 2124
dward@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3752

Art (Studio)

Gina Lewis, Program Coordinator
glewis@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3715

Janell B. Pryor, Gallery of Art Coordinator
jpryor@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3719

Art Vidrine
avidrine@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-4540

Music

Dr. Marymal Holmes, Program Coordinator, University Choir Director
mholmes@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3754

Dr. Gilbert Pryor
gpryor@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3753

Latonya Wrenn, Gospel Choir Director
lwrenn@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3757

Billy Bennett
bbennett@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3783

Music Technology

Dr. Gilbert Pryor, Coordinator
gpryor@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3753

Dr. William Smith
wesmith@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3946

Theatre Arts

Elena Velasco, Program Coordinator
(301) 860-5718
evelasco@bowiestate.edu

Bob Bartlett
bbartlett@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3769

Jennifer Dorsey, Dance
jdorsey@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3784

Kathryn Kawecki
kkawecki@bowiestate.edu(301) 860-3756

VCDMA

Tewodross Melchishua Williams, Program Coordinator, Animation, Filmmaking, Hip-Hop Studies, Motion Graphics, Multimedia, Internship, Visual Culture, Visual Communication
tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3731

Jennifer White-JohnsonAdvertising Design, Photography, Photojournalism, Visual/Social Design, Visual Communication
jwhitejohnson@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3771

Danielle Brown, Fashion Design, CAD, Costume Design, Sewing
dbrown@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3717

University Bands

Billy Bennett, Director, University Bands & Symphony of Soul
bbennett@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3783

Jackie Collins-Smith, Program Management Specialist
jcsmith@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3762 

Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC)

John McCaffe, Technical Director
jmcafee@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3765

Tamyra Lewis, Event Technician
tlewis@bowiestate.edu
(301) 860-3765