Department of Fine and Performing Arts

Faculty & Staff

Faculty research and creative endeavors center on the interdisciplinary aspects of art, design, music, theatre, dance, performance art, studio, and multimedia. With continuing commitment to innovative activities, the faculty have achieved laudable success in both national and international forums of exhibitions and publications.

The perspective gained from this high level of engagement provides the diverse faculty and professional associate staff with an informed and unique pedagogical vision. The department incorporates this astute awareness of contemporary art practice, theoretical discourse, and in-depth knowledge of evolving technologies into an educational process, which is designed to enable students to achieve the successful realization of their creative projects and artistic goals. All faculty offices are now relocated to the new Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC).

Administrative Staff and Faculty

Tewodross Melchishua Williams, Dept. Chairperson
FPAC room 2124A
tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu
Chair's office: 301-860-3751

Tracy Barwick, Administrative Assistant
FPAC room 2124
(301) 860-3752
tbarwick@bowiestate.edu

Art (Studio)

Tamara De Silva, Program Coordinator and Assistant Professor
Studio Art, Art History, African Art, 3D/Sculpture
tdesilva@bowiestate.edu
301-860-4078

Gina Lewis
glewis@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3715

Janell B. Pryor, Gallery of Art Coordinator
jpryor@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3719

Art Vidrine
avidrine@bowiestate.edu
301-860-4540

Music

Billy Bennett, Program Coordinator, Director, University Bands & Symphony of Soul
bbennett@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3783

Michael Simmons, Assistant Band Director, University Bands & Symphony of Soul
msimmons@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3769 

Brandon Felder, Music (Vocal), University Choir Director, Music
Vocal, Piano, Music Theory, Spiritual/Gospel Music, Performance
bfelder@bowiestate.edu
301-860-4755

Latonya Wrenn, Gospel Choir Director
lwrenn@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3757

Dr. Marymal Holmes
mholmes@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3754

Dr. Gilbert Pryor
gpryor@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3753

Music Technology

Dr. Gilbert Pryor, Program Coordinator
gpryor@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3753

Dr. William Smith
wesmith@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3946

Theatre Arts

Kathryn Kawecki, Program Coordinator, Acting and Directing
kkawecki@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3756

Elena Velasco, Theatre Production Coordinator
evelasco@bowiestate.edu
301-860-5718

Bob Bartlett
bbartlett@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3769

Jennifer Dorsey, Program Coordinator, Dance and Movement Studies
jdorsey@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3784

Dr. Truly Davis, Dance and Movement Studies, Dance Production Coordinator
African American and African Diasporic Dance
taustin@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3755

VCDMA

Tewodross Melchishua Williams, Program Coordinator, Animation, Filmmaking, Hip-Hop Studies, Motion Graphics, Multimedia, Internship, Visual Culture, Visual Communication
tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu
Chair's office: 301-860-3751 and VCDMA: 301-860-3731

Danielle Brown, Lead Instructor, Fashion Design, CAD, Costume Design, Sewing
dbrown@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3717

Ogechi Cheike, Visual Communication, Advertising Design
Advertising Design, Digital Media, Visual Communication, Film/Video Editing, Animation and Motion Graphics
ochieke@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3771

University Bands

Billy Bennett, Director, University Bands & Symphony of Soul
bbennett@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3783

Michael Simmons, Assistant Band Director and Assistant Professor, Music
msimmons@bowiestate.edu
FPAC RM
301-860-3768

Jacqueline W. Collins-Smith, Program Management Specialist
jcsmith@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3762

Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC)

Cheryl Lee, Technical Director
FPAC RM 2247
cllee@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3360

Carlos Campbell, Assistant Technical Director
FPAC RM 2203Z
crcampbell@bowiestate.edu
301-860-5510

Desire Dubose, FPAC Arts and Events Coordinator
ddubose@bowiestate.edu
FPAC RM 2112
(301) 860-3947

Noah Hudson, Event Technician
FPAC RM 3123
nhudson@bowiestate.edu
301-860-4132